Toros swamp the competition at Mesa City Swim Meet

    The 100 freestyle was the only individual event the Mountain View girls
team did not capture at the HoHoKam Mesa City Swim Meet.  They also won
all three relays, the diving competition, and the pentathlon.  That’s
how dominant the Toros were.
    Sarah Coleman from Westwood HS took first in the 100 freestyle (55.49), followed by Anna Froemming from Red Mountain HS (56.90) and Valerie Jaramillo
from Mountain View (58.00).  Everything else belonged to the Toros as
they finished first in the team competition with 726 points, completely
blowing away the competition.  Red Mountain managed a second place with
417.5 points.
    Emily Christiansen won the 200 freestyle (1:59.65) and the 500 freestyle (5:14.99), Aubree Allen won the 200 intermediate (2:22.11) and the 100 backstroke (1:01.90), and Breeia Larson won the 50 freestyle (24.66) and the 100 breaststroke (1:04.45).  The Toros swept the 200 IM event, with Bailey Finkelstein finishing in second (2:22.95) and Sidney Draugnon taking third (2:32.34).
    Rachel Ray finished on top in the diving competition (334.90) and Kat Simonovic finished first in the pentathlon with a total time of 6:17.75.
On the boys side, the Mountain View and Mesa HS split up the spoils,
each with four first-place finishes in the individual events.  The
Toros also won all three relays and the diving competition.  The result
was a first-place finish for the Toros with 553.5 points, followed by
Dobson HS (477) and Mesa HS (297).
    Michael Knox
won two events for the Toros, the 200 intermediate (2:03.04) and the
100 freestyle (49.61).  Teammates who also won their events: Trentin White in the 50 freestyle (22.31), Payton Sorenson in the 100 backstroke (56.93), and Isaac Thurston in diving (382.90). 
    Jordan Overstreet from Mesa HS won the 200 freestyle (1:51.82) and the 500 freestyle (5:06.83), and teammate Adam Williams won the 100 butterfly (56.32) and Ryan Vigil was first in the 100 breaststroke (1:03.28).  Drew Reed from Skyline HS won the entathlon in a time of 6:07.97.