Swimming continues to be dominated by the few

    Swimming & diving continues to be one of the few sports in Arizona
high school competition where teams are able to dominate so thoroughly
– and on both sides of the program; a good boys’ program is generally
complemented by a strong girls’ program.
    This season was no
exception, as Arcadia HS far outdistanced the competition in the 4A-II
state meet as both girls and boys teams won titles.  The same in 4A-I,
where Catalina Foothills HS (Tucson) had little trouble winning state
titles, the 10th straight for the boys and nine out of the last 10 for
the girls.  In 5A-II, Chaparral won 11 events to claim both girls and
boys titles, and Brophy dominated 5A-I on the boys side, winning every
event except the 100 breaststroke, for its 22nd consecutive state
championship, and Xavier Prep captured its 11th consecutive
championship on the girls side. (Although different schools, the two
Catholic schools are located side-by-side and share some facilities.)
    Brophy racked up 545 points to second-place Desert Vista’s 256; Mountain View HS was third with 240.  John Wojciechoswski was
named the meet’s top swimmer, winning the 100 backstroke and 50
freestyle and then swimming a leg of the 200 medley relay, which set a
state record (1:32.33).  He was joined on that team by his brother, Louis, and Brian Stevens and Harrison Gibson.
    Another state record fell, as Katie Olsen from Desert Vista HS won the 100 breaststroke in 1:00.68.  And it was the same event on the boys’ side that Andrew Marciniak from Highland HS won (57.77) to deny Brophy a complete sweep of the events.
Xavier Prep scored 546 points, followed a long way back by Desert Vista
HS with 323 points and Mountain View HS with 303.  Xavier senior, Haley Krokoski, won the girls 100 freestyle (50.47) and sophomore Talie Anchustegui won the 100 backstroke (56.60) and 100 butterfly (55.36).
The Chaparral boys’ team compiled 320 points to finish ahead of Horizon
HS (259) and Boulder Creek HS (237) in the 5A-II competition.  What
made the feat all the more impressive, this is the first year for
Firebirds to compete in 5A-II, moving up from 4A-I this year.  The
girls finished in first with 386 points, followed by Pinnacle HS (326)
and Desert Mountain HS (282).
    Tanner Roe
was instrumental in the Chaparral win, finishing first in the 200
freestyle and 500 freestyle – and also led off in the 400 freestyle
relay to win the title in that event.  Cody Vitez won the 200 IM and the 100 breaststroke.
    Several All-American times were also set in the competition: Ashley Evans from Pinnacle HS won the 200 and 500 freestyle events in All-American times and Erica Stock earned All-American consideration in the 200 IM and earned automatic All-American status in the 100 breaststroke.
    In 4A-II, Carter Graves won the 100 butterfly and 100 backstroke, and Carly Stevens
won the 500 IM and finished second in the 200 IM relay to propel the
Arcadia HS girls team to the title with 497 points.  Second place went
to Notre Dame Prep (254 points), followed by Thunderbird HS (225.5).
On the boys’ side, Arcadia coasted to the title with 408 points, well
ahead of Flagstaff HS (276.5) and Notre Dame Prep (215.5).  Chris Pickard won the 200 IM in a time of 1:52.29 for Arcadia and also captured the 100 butterfly in 50.32, part of a 1-2 Arcadia finish as Nathan Anderson finished behind Pickard in 52.24. Notre Dame had a couple of strong individual finishes, as Ben Brouwer won the 500 freestyle (4:50.60) and teamed with brother Alex Brouwer to win the 400 freestyle relay, along with Zach Kezirian and John Harmon
In 4A-I, Catalina Foothills rolled up 450 points for the girls win,
followed by Canyon del Oro HS (Tucson) with 284 and Sabino HS (Tucson)
with 251.  Karima Chuk won the 200 freestyle (1:53.16), Izzy Diamond won the 1M diving (361.20),  and Kirsten Hocheder won the 500 freestyle in 5:01.36.
The boys’ team racked up 485 points for the win, well ahead of
Sunnyslope HS with 243 points and Sabino HS with 196.  Leading the
charge for Catalina were: Adrian Brynnel, who won the 200 freestyle in 1:41.99 and the 500 freestyle in 4:35.83, Barrett Meisfeld who won the 200 IM in 1:53.01 and the 100 butterfly in 48.80, and Cole Puchi who won the 100 freestyle in 46.87 and the 100 backstroke in 53.26.  TJ Lundstrom won the 100 breaststroke in 57.73.