Today’s football stars honored by legends of the past

    Colby Kirkegaard of Arcadia HS has been named the Danny White Award winner by the National Football Foundation during its Hall of Fame banquet this week in New York. 
The award is presented to the state’s most outstanding senior
quarterback and is named for the All-American quarterback at Arizona
State that went on to play 13 seasons for the Dallas Cowboys (shown in
photo), and most recently the head coach for the Arizona Rattlers, the
Valley’s Arena Football League team.
    A couple of other honors were also given to local athletes at the banquet.  Nick Rowland from Centennial HS was named the winner of the Frank Kush Award and Tevin Hood from Hamilton HS received the Curley Culp Award. 
The Kush award goes to the state’s most outstanding interior lineman
and the Culp award to the defensive lineman of the same stature.
Kush took the ASU football program to national prominence and is the
school’s all-time winningest coach, and also a member of the College
Football Hall of Fame.  Culp wsas a three-year starting nose guard for
the Sun Devils and an All-America heavyweight wrestler.  A six-time Pro
Bowl defensive lineman in the NFL, he also was honored as the Arizona
Athlete of Century as chosen by USA Today newspaper.
The trio will join this season’s championship high school coaches of
Arizona’s seven football classifications at the annual Valley of the
Sun Champions Luncheon Dec. 18 in Phoenix, as the Arizona Fotball
Coaches Association All-State Team is announced.