Second straight D-1 golf title is eighth for Hamilton boys

It was another private party at this year’s D-I boys’ high school golf state championship.

For the past three years, the top two finishers at state have been either Hamilton High School or Brophy Prep.  This year, the boys’ title belongs to Hamilton, which gives the Huskies back-to-back state championships.

Brophy finished runner-up this year and last, and was the champion in 2018, when Hamilton took its turn at second place.

The 2020 crown makes it eight state titles for each school.

Hamilton’s run to the state title this time was no surprise.  The Huskies returned three of the state’s top golfers from last year’s championship squad, including senior Johnny Walker who was last year’s individual state champion.

This team was even stronger than last year.  Brophy came within three strokes of taking back the title in 2019, but the results of the Wednesday-Thursday tournament at OMNI Tucson National Sonoran Course showed the Huskies running away from this year’s field, carding a team total 557 to win by 12 strokes.

To make that happen, the Huskies had to overcome a six-stroke Brophy advantage after the first day of play.  Hamilton stunned the Broncos on day two, beating them by 18 strokes, thanks in large part to the play of Mahanth Chirravuri, who nailed three consecutive birdies to shoot six-under par and propel the Broncos to victory.

The junior finished the tournament at 10-under par to win the individual title.  Max Lyons a senior from Sandra Day O’Connor HS, was runner-up at 8-under, followed by Hamilton’s Anawin Pikulthong at 3-under.

Pikulthong, a sophomore who has already committed to play for Arizona State University, has been ranked by Junior Golf Scoreboard as the No. 10 overall player in Arizona and is No. 1 in the state in the Class of 2023.

Both Chirravuri and Pikulthong will be back next year, which has to make the Huskies a very early favorite to make it a three-peat in 2021.